dc 22
Dead Cross II

Just in time for the holidays, American hardcore “supergroup” Dead Cross released their second full-length album, II, on Ipecac Recordings this past October. The album is a concoction of musical treatments, doused with innovative riffs of gothic proportion, drummed up from the ash of burnt angel wings. It assaults the mind as it slowly peels the skin from the back of your neck. An entourage of metal’s finest, drilling distorted bass riffs into a tight metal frame, led by the ethereal uprise and brutal assault of Mike Patton’s vocals. A group of signature personas co-authoring new anthems of isolation and hatred towards war, global dominance, extreme consumerism, toxic masculinity, insanity, and fear-mongering. A scathing shitstorm of misanthropy aimed at society at large.

Anyway, continue reading below for my full review. Visit the Ipecac Recordings Website for Dead Cross music and merch. Album review by Joseph Strand.

Mr. Bungle: The Raging Wrath of The Easter Bunny Demo

Avant-garde metal martyr’s Mr. Bungle released the best thrash metal album of 1986 on October 30, 2020. Possibly one the best things to come out of what would end up becoming such a hellish year. Of course I’m referring to Bungle’s fourth studio album, The Raging Wrath of The Easter Bunny Demo. A demo most have never heard, and one I thought would never be legitimately re-recorded and released as an album. Eureka!

This album is fucking awesome. Beautiful and brutal. That’s about all I can say. It’s a true soundtrack for the times, particularly in the US, but also for the world’s chaos at large. With legends like Mike Patton, Scott Ian, Dave Lombardo, Trevor Dunn, and Trey Spruance, how can Mr. Bungle go wrong?!? They can’t. Anyway, in this album review Hazy Eye Music Media’s contributor Joseph Strand reviews The Raging Wrath of The Easter Bunny Demo by Mr. Bungle. Continue reading below for Joseph’s full album review.

Mr. Bungle
Omar Rodríguez-López

This summer continues to see tracks released by multi-Instrumentalist/composer Omar Rodríguez-López (ORL) from his new 3LP vinyl box-set entitled “The Clouds Hill Tapes Parts I-III.” The complete vinyl box-set, which was finally released today July 24th, contains vinyl-only tracks along with the yet to be heard Part III. This vinyl box-set arrives just in time for the summer blues that have been plaguing the party nation. These albums include new recordings of three sessions dating from the years 2018-2019 recorded at the Clouds Hill Studios. Part I features eight pieces, and Part II and III six pieces each. All of these tracks are performed by Omar Rodríguez-López and include a range of guest musicians.

In this album review Hazy Eye Music Media’s contributor Joseph Strand reviews “The Clouds Hill Tapes Part I-III” by Omar Rodríguez-López. ORL is best known as the guitarist and driving force behind At the Drive-In and The Mars Volta; however, this project takes the listener down an alternate path. “Each part is a different path to a different world. Each track a different incantation. Omar Rodríguez-López again shows us what kind of pan-dimensional musical collaborator he is.” Continue reading below for Joseph’s full review.


The reemergence of the band Hum is that of lost astronauts, revisiting the Earth, after over 20 years of flight. Their latest (and possibly greatest ) effort, Inlet, is massive. This is an album that undulates between the hardest and most ethereal they’ve ever been.The landing of this album has been met with a very warm welcome from fans. With the current restraints on live music performance still pending, I’d chalk Hum up to be one of the most anticipated bands to hit any stage in 2021.

In this album review Hazy Eye Music Media’s contributor Joseph Strand reviews Hum’s fifth studio album, Inlet, released on June 23, 2020. “This 8 song album is another opus from Talbott.” Continue reading for Joseph’s full review.

Le Butcherettes

If you are a die hard fan of Teri Gender Bender and Le Butcherettes you were not disappointed with this new EP. If you recently discovered the band since the album’s release on Valentine’s Day, you were likely struck by Gender Bender’s crooked arrow of love.

From the opening track “Wounds Belong To Me” featuring Teri on acoustic guitar, singing into what sounds like an old cassette recorder, to the album’s closing track “Boom” dropping an 808 alongside contorted lead lines and idiosyncratic beats, and variations of electronic rock songs in between, Don’t Bleed is an eclectic 7 song journey through love and femininity’s deeper shades via one of rock music’s most colorful female artists.

In this album (EP) review Hazy Eye Music Media’s contributor Joseph Strand reviews Le Butcherettes’ Don’t Bleed released on February 14, 2020. “A must for burning and broken hearts alike.” Continue reading for Joseph’s full review. All words by Joseph Strand.

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit’s new musical excursion, Reunions, is a wonderful concoction of music and lyrics that Isbell uses to provide insight into the human condition. With his wife Amanda Shires on violin and background vocals, and David Crosby on background vocals on some songs, the band shines on with country-flavored rock anthems that nicely fit into the Americana genre. In this album review, Hazy Eye Music Media’s contributor Rick Jones reviews the alt-country album Reunions released on May 15, 2020. All words by Rick Jones. Thanks Rick!